Skip to product information
1 of 3

Actual cover or vinyl color may vary slightly from mockup

Blue Train

GENRE(S): Jazz

STYLE(S): Hard Bop

Edition: Audiophile

Condition: New & Sealed

Regular price $38.99 - $54.99
Regular price $ Sale price $38.99

In stock

We've got your back

  • Free Shipping $99+

    • Free 3-8 day shipping on orders $99+

    - or -

    • 1-5 day shipping for $11.95 flat rate

    • 3-8 day shipping for $8.95 flat rate

    • 10-25 day shipping for $5.95 flat rate

  • Free 100 Day Returns

    • Open it, play it, don't like it? Send it back. No questions asked.

    • We pay return shipping - return any time within 100 days.

    • Click here to view our full (and pretty awesome) return policy and/or start a return.

  • Secure Packaging

    • All orders are packed in bomb proof packaging made for records.

    • We use mailers designed for any size record and any size order.

  • Have Questions?

    We live and breathe this stuff.

    Email and we'll get back to you ASAP.




Decade Recorded



Vinyl Weight

Vinyl Color



On September 15, 1957, John Coltrane went into Rudy Van Gelder's living room studio in Hackensack, New Jersey and recorded his first great masterpiece: Blue Train. It would be the legendary saxophonist's sole album as a leader for Blue Note, a locomotive five-track album fueled by the bluesy title track that featured a dynamic six-piece band with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Curtis Fuller on trombone, Kenny Drew on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. To mark the 65th anniversary of the album's recording, Blue Train will be released as part of Blue Note's acclaimed Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series.
Both Tone Poet Vinyl Editions were produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in deluxe gatefold tip-on jackets.

- Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series.
- Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.
- Mastered Directly from the Original Analog Master Tapes!
- Pressed At RTI.

Album Preview

Tracklist and audio may vary slightly from the vinyl version


Side A (All Variants)
  1. Blue Train
  2. Moment's Notice
Side B (All Variants)
  1. Locomotion
  2. I'm Old Fashioned
  3. Lazy Bird
Side C (Stereo Variant Only)
  1. Blue Train (False Start)
  2. Blue Train (Alternate Take 7)
  3. Moment's Notice (Alternate Take 4)
Side D (Stereo Variant Only)
  1. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 1)
  2. Blue Train (Alternate Take 8)
  3. Moment's Notice (Alternate Take 5A Incomplete)
  4. Lazy Bird (Alternate Take 2)

Discover More

explore more: Hard Bop